Sunday 24th July 2016,
Fairview Township Police Department

Department History

In 1962, the Fairview Township Board of Supervisors appointed one part time police officer. The growth of Fairview Township dictated a need for a police department and on June 14, 1968, the Board of Supervisors adopted a resolution forming a full time police force.  William R. Collins was appointed as the first Chief of Police.  At that time, the department consisted of four full time officers and they shared one police cruiser.

Chief of Police, William Collins began his police career in 1962 with the New York City Police Department. He later worked for the Edgewood Police Department, located in Allegheny County, before becoming Fairview Township’s first chief of police.  Chief Collins retired in 1993 and passed away in 1997.

During the early years, the police department consisted of one desk in the corner of the old Township building, which is now part of the Fairview Bethel church (located at the Spanglers Mill/Lewisberry Road split).  While the current Fairview Township building was being constructed, the police department worked out of the old Cedar Grove School located on Fishing Creek Road.

By 1974,  the Fairview Township Police Department had expanded to include 11 full time officers, including the chief, a sergeant and a detective.

In May of 1994, Eric A. Bistline was appointed as Fairview Township’s second  police chief.   Chief Bistline began his career as an officer with the department in 1972.  He was promoted to sergeant in 1979,  and to lieutenant in 1989.    In February 2004, the Fairview Township Police Department became an accredited police agency as recognized by the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police.   After 32 years of service, Chief Bistline retired in July 2004.  Mr. Bistline is currently the Executive Director for the York County Department of Emergency Services.

Bernard G. Dugan began his career as a police officer with the department in 1982.  He was promoted to sergeant in 1999 and in November 2004, he was appointed as the 3rd chief of police. for Fairview Township.  A short time later he was appointed the department’s Accrediation Manager.

During this time, the police department grew again, to a roster of 17 full time officers.  This number included the chief, one lieutenant, two  sergeants, two detectives and two civilian employees.  The civilian staff maintain the main office and the records department. In March 2012,  after serving 30 years with the Fairview Township Police Department, Chief Dugan retired.  He is currently the Police Chief in Annville, PA.

In March of 2012, Scott E. Hockenberry was sworn in as Fairview Township’s current Chief of Police. He joined the department as a police officer in 1994 and was promoted to the rank of sergeant in 2003.  Hockenberry was promoted again in 2007 to the rank of Lieutenant.  In November 2012, he left the department.

With the departure of Chief Hockenberry, then Lt. Jason C. Loper was made the temporary acting Chief of Police by the Fairview Township Board of Supervisors. This was followed by an official appointment to Chief of Police in 2014. Chief Loper began his career in Fairview Township in 1994, and served as a patrol officer, Detective, and Lieutenant prior to his appointment as Police Chief.

Currently, the police department is staffed with 15 full time police officers and three civilian employees.